

MEDIA RELEASE

4th March 2018

Hecton's Bale fantastic Australian Cup triumph

By GRV Website

Anakie greyhound trainer Andrea Dailly won her fourth Australian Cup (525m) when Hecton Bale won in a sensational 29.53sec at The Meadows last night.

Settling in second position behind Hasten Slowly, Hecton Bale found the lead in the back straight and won by a whopping five lengths, much to the delight of an emotional Dailly.

It was his 13th win from 26 starts, and the \$250,000 first prize took his prize money earnings up to \$336,753.

Haston Slowly (\$36.10) finished in second place, with Queenslander Opal Nera (\$7.30) third.



as well as the Ballarat Derby (450m).

Earlier in the night, Fanta Bale took out the \$100,000 to-the-winner Australian Super Stayers (725m), which saw her become the first Australian greyhound to win nine Group 1s.

The Robert Britton-trained Fanta Bale took her career prize money earnings up to a record \$1,365,175, surpassing Fernando Bale's record of \$1,299,370.

"It wasn't all bad for Fernando Bale tonight because he is the sire of Hecton Bale," said Paul Wheeler of NSW, who bred and owns Hecton Bale, Fernando Bale and Fanta Bale.

"Fernando Bale is siring plenty of quality winners, and Hecton Bale is no exception."

Hecton Bale has showed plenty of brilliance and versatility throughout his career, winning the Group Listed Maidment Memorial (595m) at Sandown Park

He could just be the next big thing in greyhound racing.

Dailly's other Australian Cup winners were Dyna Lachlan (2010), Spud Regis (2013) and Dyna Double One (2016).

After the placed runners then followed: Zipping Inglis (\$29.50), Raw Ability (\$2.70), Dyna Forrest (\$34), Slick (\$5.70) and Chasin' Crackers (\$4.10).

Hecton Bale is a Black dog whelped September 2015 by Fernando Bale from Searle Bale (Dyna Lachlan x Princess Bale). Hecton Bale is raced by Paul Wheeler and trained by Andrea Dailly. He has raced 26 times for 13 wins and eight placings. After adding the \$250,000 first prize for the Australian Cup his stake earnings stand at \$336,753.

The Australian Cup was first run in 1958 at North Melbourne the M.G.R.A.'s first home then moved with the club to Olympic Park becoming the famous race it is today when promoted with flair and style by the late Ken Carr the club astute manager for many years. When Olympic closed the club flagship event was conducted at Sandown while the club established its new home at the Meadows. It has been conducted at the new complex since it opened in 1999. Listed below is the classic honour roll of the past winners that have won this mighty race.

1958 Rookie Rebel, 1959 Rocky Ros, 1960 Meadow Vale 1961 Copeland, 1962 Take A Bow, 1963 "Not Held", 1964 Old Tops, 1965 Worthing, 1966 Billy Vee, 1967 Fawn Nulla, 1968 Swanston Lass, 1969 Benjamin John, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Black Diro, 1972 Blackamoor Lad, 1973 Half Your Luck, 1974 Kim's Monaro, 1975 Ungwilla Lad, 1976 Odious, 1977 Listowel Sue, 1978 Count D'Argent, 1979 Boundless, 1980 Tangaloa, 1981 Pete's Advice, 1982 Royal Rumpus, 1983 Drop Of Wine, 1984 Tangairn, 1985 Eaglehawk Star, 1986 Bright Judge, 1987 Regal Post, 1988 Golden Blessing, 1989 Ginger, 1990 Spread Eagled, 1991 Franklin Deano, 1992 China Trip, 1993 China Trip, 1994 Mancunian Girl, 1995 Bonjase, 1996 Tenthill Doll, 1997 Smooth Rumble, 1998 Fibba, 1999 Mandatario, 2000 Arvo's Express, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Isa Brown, 2003 Most Awesome / Blackjack Tom D/H, 2004 Bogie Leigh 2005 Pure Octane, 2006 Miss Spicy, 2007 Pete's Conquest, 2008 Tasman Queen, 2009 Velocette, 2010 Dyna Lachlan, 2011 St.Pierre and 2012 Zara Zulu, 2013 Spud Regis, 2014 Buckle Up Wes, 2015 Luca Neveelk 2016 Dyna Double One and 2017 Fanta Bale.

Best of the Best Fanta makes it 9 Group 1's in the Super Stayers

By GRV Website

Fanta Bale won an Australian record nine Group 1s in the Australian Super Stayers last night, and in doing so took her prize money earnings up to \$1,365,175, surpassing Fernando Bale's record of \$1,299,370.



Fanta Bale supreme in the Super Stayers (All Pics Clint Anderson)

Paul Wheeler was at The Meadows for what was arguably his most successful night in a decorated career in greyhound racing, as Hecton Bale won the Australian Cup.

The NSW breeder/owner was left in awe of Fanta Bale (David Bale – Ucme Typhoon), who jumped beautifully from box one as the \$1.80 favourite but was challenged throughout by Sale Cup winning West Australian, Quick Jagger (\$12.70).

"I thought at the 600 metres boxes she was spent, but she has a heart like I've never seen," Wheeler said of Fanta Bale. She can lead or come from behind. Sometimes it's as if she has a jockey on her back weaving her through traffic. She's one of the best Australia has seen, if not the best."

Wheeler said Fanta Bale, who is the only Australian greyhound to win Group 1s as a sprinter, middle and staying performer, has defied all logic with what she has been able to achieve.

"She broke in as fast as a sprinter, so it's incredible that she is a stayer because stayers simply don't show they can sprint when they are broken-in," Wheeler said.

Wheeler commended trainer Robert Britton and his training team their role in Fanta Bale's stunning career, which now reads at 42 wins from 62 starts. She has a massive fan base, many of whom roared with excitement as she crossed the finish line half a length ahead of Quick Jagger (Christopher Halse), with the fast-finishing Sharp Diamond (\$85.40) (Wayne Vassallo) third and Rippin' Sam (Robert Britton) fourth.

Britton trained three winners on the card including Janali, who won the \$25,000 to-the-winner Group 3 GRV Vic Breeders Maiden Final (525m). Janali (Barcia Bale – Born Ali) was bred by Noel Mugavin.

After the placed runners in the Super Stayers the rest of the field finished in then following order: Rippin' Sam (\$2.20), Magic Hornet (\$70.40), Bolt Like Bekim (\$62.30), Mick's Angel (\$92.40) and Azkaban (\$22.60).

Fanta Bale is a Black bitch whelped August 2014 by David Bale from Ucme Typhoon (Dodgem By Design x USS Mysterious). Fanta Bale is raced Paul Wheeler and trained by Robert Britton. She has raced 62 times for 42 wins and 14 placings. After adding the \$100,000 first prize for the Super Stayers her stake earnings stand at \$1,365,175. First on the all-time stakes winning list.

Listed below are the past winners of the renamed Group 1 feature the Macro Meats Super Stayers. In recent years, the race has been known as the Australian Super Stayers and the Gleeson & Tonta Trophy. First run at Olympic Park in 1978 the staying feature had stood the test time. This year the race was sponsored for the third time by Macro Meats who have become involved with a number of high profile events at both metropolitan tracks in Victoria.

1978 King's Domain, 1979 Misty Fabric, 1980 Sue's Repeat, 1981 Parachute Luck, 1982 Mira Donna, 1983 Dark Harlequin, 1984 Tesoro Mio, 1985 Planosec, 1986 Bay Supreme, 1987 Mystic Hope, 1988 Magic Lightning, 1989 High Flight, 1990 Pebbles' Beach, 1991 Modern Express, 1992 Saltwater Sid, 1993 Gold Roulette, 1994 "Not Held", 1995 Just Barby, 1996 City Blitz, 1997 Nowhere To Go, 1998 Ringside Fire, 1999 Moe's Tavern, 2000 Sunblest Kid, 2001 Proven Dreams, 2002 Boomeroo, 2003 Oh Behave, 2004 Skipper Rip, 2005 Malfoy, 2006 Quidame, 2007 Flashing Floods, 2008 Just Friends, 2009 Lilley Criminal, 2010 Drill 'Em, 2011 Bobby Boucheau and 2012 Thrilling Brat, 2013 Destini Fireball, 2014 Destini Fireball, 2015 Luna Jinx, 2016 Star Recall and 2017 Trip To Eden.

The Superstayers final and the Group 1 Australian Cup capped off an amazing three weeks of racing at The Meadows. In excess of over \$1,000,000 in prizemoney was won in another outstanding carnival.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown GCA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950

David Simonette
GCA Executive Officer
simonette7862@gmail.com